top of page

My peace. My happy place

Updated: Jan 5







It's been about a month since I uninstalled Facebook and Instagram from my phone. I have become increasingly overwhelmed by my empathic ability to feel the pain of the world. I have become increasingly disgusted by the depravity of humanity and it has made it harder for me to see the good happening in my close proximity. Despite efforts to help such as advocacy and donations, the feeling of helplessness became pervasive and I did not like the fact that I had to wait for people in power, those with the most corrupted morals, to do the right thing. I was tired of holding my breath.


Between my birthday in October and now, I've been in a whirlwind of work- my private practice is growing, my main hospital is busy as usual, and I have been doing some extra work covering another hospital in a different city. I also fit in another medical education trip to Melbourne, Australia, this time to rejuvinate my obstetric and gynaecology ultrasonography skills. My eldest turned 14, had a fun gathering of friends, is now about my height and full of muscle. My daughter had end of year concerts for dance class. All three kids did very well in school, earning awards and certificates. Every weekend has been occupied and every week filled. Needless to say, our family was desperate for our annual trip to Hahei Beach Resort on the Coromandel peninsula.

























View from my bed early in the morning



This year we rented the Sea View Villa instead of the Family Kitchen Cabin that we usually use.


Views for days. Such a magical place. A trip with no electronics, just spending time building sand castles and enjoying eachother's company. The kids made friends and played for hours on end with children from all over the country and the world. We got to use my early Christmas present- a paddleboard.


Randy meal prepped as usual and we ate well all week. And when we didn't want to cook there was lots to eat at cafes and eateries and the kids were allowed to indulge in a walk to the ice cream shop every day.


The summer days were endless, with full sunlight till 8:30 at night.


I was back at my happy place. A place filled with nature and ocean and silence except for the sounds of birds, waves and happy children. Surrounded by nice people and good food and proof that humanity isn't all rotten. This is our third summer in New Zealand and I am grateful that I get to live in a country filled with so much easily accessible beauty.






36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sydney

bottom of page