top of page

Renewal in the silence, and what I do not owe

As I mentioned in a previous post, I have been disconnected from social media for about a month and a half now. The other day I briefly snuck onto instagram on my PC and went to one of my favorite pages- Black Liturgies. Cole Arthur Riley's book This Here Flesh was so validating and healing for me when I read it last year. I've followed her works since then.


I wanted to share today some of what she has written, as they are always well said and echoing of my feelings.






When I came across this one I immediately thought of something I encountered recently-





Some months ago, I was told that someone in my extended family had expressed that I should have stayed in the US and continued practicing medicine and my advocacy work instead of moving to NZ. He believed that I could do more for Black people in the US than here in NZ.


I was irritated and frustrated and, the more I thought about it, the more pissed I became at the comments. The premise of his argument is flawed, entitled, and reeked of misogynoir.


He assumed that I, a woman originally from the Caribbean, was obligated to take care of HIS people for the rest of her life.


He assumed that the United States is the center of the universe, disregarding how internationally, Black people make up a global majority while being a relatively small minority in the States. I can help Black people anywhere and everywhere. Hell, James Baldwin had to spend years living in France and Istanbul in order to keep his sanity and have the clarity to write and speak out.


White Supremacy has cultivated this expectation from Black women that we are on this earth to serve at the expense of our own health, happiness and safety. Black American men are as guilty of this expectation as anyone else, if not more.


Nevermind the fact that this man was not himself involved in doing work that could advance the condition of people of color in the country of his birth, but he was happy to commit me to continuing to do the work.


He thinks it sounds logical but what his conclusion should have been is that the US needs to be less racist and they should treat their women of color better so that they want to stay and can stay healthy and whole enough to serve the people. It is true that POC cared for by POC often fare better across most sectors. The data is certainly clear on this in the healthcare setting with maternal and neonatal morbidity. That is because of systemic racism and white supremacy. The root problem needs to be fixed. Not enough people want to understand the ill effects of being the only Black person in a professional setting in America. Not enough people care about the higher rates of hypertension, autoimmune diseases and other manifestations of a toxic public and professional environment on the black body.


White doctors are leaving the country in droves. Black doctors should be allowed to as well without being judged by Black men, or anyone for that matter.


During the almost 2.5 yrs I have lived here in NZ, I've undergone an intentional process of detachment and detoxification. I then worked on redefining and reengaging with advocacy. I decided that my ability to help others in deep and meaningful ways needs to be as a global citizen, not centered around one particular country.


I have become involved with organizations protecting reproductive justice in New Zealand and continue to seek ways to advance women's health globally. I continue to pay attention to all the ways that White supremacy and the effects of colonization wreaks havoc amongst indigenous populations.

I have been on a personal journey of healing from injuries that I didn't realize I had. I have read and meditated and studied and followed the works of thought leaders who are doing the work of guiding people of color through healing from racial trauma.

I have finally been able to internalize the advice that so many activists have stressed over the decades- you must protect your joy in order to spread it to others. Sometimes stepping outside of the toxic environment can help you best dismantle it.


Anyway, Cole Arthur Riley summed it up for me eloquently once again.



78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Oceans

bottom of page